How to Crochet an Owl Hat

Owl HatMy stepdaughter has a new daughter herself – making me a Grandma (well, as good as!) – and she highlighted a hat she’d seen and asked me if I could make one for her little girl.  I love it when someone asks me to make something specific as I’ve never been an ‘ideas’ person and I have trouble coming up with designs myself.

The hat that she referred to looked like an owl.  I’d seen these animal-type hats before but never attempted one.

The finished product is fantastic, in pink and green, and I couldn’t believe how easy it was.  In fact, I went on to make a few more for other friends and family.  See the photo to the right in boy-ish colors.

I used:

  • Red Heart Soft Touch yarn (1 ball of each color with plenty left over)
  • 6mm or ‘J’ crochet hook
  • 2 buttons

* the label on the yarn suggests a 4.5mm crochet hook but I like to be a bit daring sometimes.

My stepdaughter was also thoughtful enough to provide me with a link to a pattern that she’d found at Knotty Knotty Crochet.  So, credit where credit is due: visit Kristi at the link above.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

